Tags

, ,

I thought it could last some more. Alas. it couldn’t. I’m talking about the food blog.

I tried my best to sustain it but looks like I am a lazy procrastinator when it comes to doing laundry and taking pictures of food that I make. Sigh. Despite those lazy hindrances, I hope to post a few food recipes in this space itself. You’d not mind that, will you?!

Well.. In that case, today’s menu shall be arisi upma. A very quick TamBrahm recipe which will come to your aid when you run out of idli batter and Bombay rava for breakfast.

Arisi Upma - Life Saver Breakfast

Arisi Upma – Life Saver Breakfast

There was a time when I was scared-to-hell of upmas. Any. My upmas would turn watery than the Indian Ocean, on some occasions. Or would become drier than the Thar itself, certain times. It took me a lot of effort to learn how to make a decent upma. Now, you’ve gauged my cooking skills, haven’t you?

Well.. After that prologue, for whoever is left reading, here is the recipe for arisi upma.

– Wash a cup of raw rice, dry it on a towel and use the mixer to powder it coarsely. I used Idli Rava instead, ‘cos I got it free for some grocery item and didn’t know what to do with it!

– Powder 3 tablespoons of toor dal, half a spoon each of pepper and cumin seeds coarsely.

– Now, heat 2 table spoons of oil on a pan (or lesser in case you wish to!) and temper it with asafoetida and mustard seeds. Once the mustard seeds begin to splutter, add half a spoon each of urad dal and chana dal. Then, add curry leaves and 2 halved dried red chillies.

(Variation 1 – You can add finely cut brinjal at this stage and saute it a little before adding water. That will give a different taste to the upma.)

– Then add two cups of water and bring it to a boil. (The ratio of powdered rice to water is 1 : 2)

– When the water comes to a boil, add the rice and powdered dal mixture to it. Add salt to taste.

(Variation 2 – You can add coconut at this stage for added flavour.)

– Stir well for the mixture to combine. Keep the flame low, cover the pan with a lid and cook for another 10-12 minutes.

– Your arirsi upma is ready to be served. If you wish to, you can add a teaspoon of ghee/coconut oil on top for a wonderful flavour. You can work out five minutes extra the next day. Else, you can also meditate and become unperturbed by the effects of ghee. (I’m an expert in doing this meditation thingie!)

– Serve the upma with any chutney or gotsu. (Recipe for easy-peesy tomato gotsu coming up!)

Do you like the combo?

Do you like the combo?

Enjoy. Peace Out.

