Tags

, ,

A soupy evening

A soupy evening

For one, I am not a big fan of making soups at home. They generally don’t turn out the way they ought to. At least, for me. But it is always nice to experiment. Although the first time may be a flop, I’d rather ensure to do well the second time around. Also, when there are two little ones at home who love ‘tomato soup’, I might as well experiment; rather than wonder what would have gone into the soup that they ate drank at that dingy restaurant.

I once tried using these ready-made soups and Β me, being me, didn’t like it one bit. Then, there was no option but to make it at home. So, I got hold of this recipe from here and believe me, it is one of the best recipes for making tomato soup. The best thing about this recipe is that there are no fancy items required. Just use whatever you have at home and tadaaa.. super soup is ready!

A soup a day keeps monotony away

A soup a day keeps monotony away

Ingredients –

Ripe tomatoes – 5
Beetroot – a small piece
Garlic – 7 flakes (I’m a garlic lover. You can use lesser number of flakes if you wish!)
Bay leaf – 1
Ghee – 1 tablespoon (I didn’t have the Β patience to break the butter which was frozen into a stone and so used ghee. You can use butter too!)
Salt – To taste
Pepper powdered – To taste
Sugar – 1 tsp
Corn flour – 1 tsp

Method –

In a pressure cooker, heat butter. Add the bay leaf, roughly chopped garlic, beetroot piece and tomatoes. Add a little bit of water to it and pressure cook for 2-3 whistles. (Tip – Do not miss the beet root piece. Gives the wonderful colour to the soup!)

Once the pressure is released, take out the tomatoes without disturbing much. Peel out the skin and remove the bay leaf. Cool the tomatoes and grind them using a mixer/blender.

Strain the ground mixture through a metal strainer to remove the seeds. You can use a little bit of water. (I used a little bit more! ;))

Transfer the strained soup to a saucepan, including the bay leaf and begin heating it on low flame. Add the sugar and salt at this stage.

Boil for 3-4 minutes. Meanwhile, mix the cornflour with some water and add it to the boiling soup. Boil until you think is enough. Or if like us, it was the fiftieth time the kids came asking ‘Is the soup done, Amma?’

Add the pepper on top. Generously, ‘cos other wise the soup would be tangy. But, if you have a only-sweet-tooth person like my daughter, you can skip the pepper too. She loved it without it.

Additions –
– You can add coriander leaves to garnish, if you wish to. I didn’t have any that day!
– You can also add cream. Makes the soup creamier and you, a little fattier.

Look at the colour!

Look at the colour!

Enjoy. Peace out.

