Tags

,

Today is again a new song, from a familiar movie and a familiar music director, though. Thanks to this 100 happy songs posts, I listen to a lot more songs than I usually do. I go looking for newer films, new languages, unexplored territories and get to listen gems that I would’ve missed otherwise.

Song of the day is Chillendra Chillendra from Thirumanam Ennum Nikkah. A very Hindustani (or is it Sufi?) sound rules this song. Sounds very religious but peppered with commercial ingredients. I particularly like the use of a few Hindi words in between; adds a little bit of a charm. The female portions sung by Kaushiki Chakrabarty sounds beautiful. I don’t know how many times I’ll use the same words but I’m sure Gibran is here to stay. Waiting eagerly for the music of Viswaroopam 2!

Enjoy. Have a happy start to the work week.

