Tags

,

Today has to be ARR’s day. There’s no other way! 🙂

I wanted to post a vintage Rahman song. And, there can’t be anything more vintage than Mani Ratnam – ARR combo. Right?

First, I want to write about the album that makes it for today’s happy post. Thiruda Thiruda. This film is a benchmark (still!) in ARR’s career. There can’t be a better album than this for the master. He’s experimented with almost every song and how! The biggest hit of the lot Veerapandi Kottaiyile is so very unstructured but such a powerful one. Among the three of singers, Mano and Chithra stand out. Then, we have the western influence that gives goosebumps in Chandralekha. I don’t know of any other singer who has a voice that is more power-packed than Anupama (of yore, though!) Kannum Kannum’s initial humming is enough to keep us hooked; although Mano’s vocals are equally powerful. Okay.. Next up Thee thee. I can’t think of any other song which is so complex but is so endearing. The male portions in this song are again powerful (can’t really think of any other word!) and Caroline’s sweet vocals make the song what it is. Endearing. Now, for Raasathi.. I have no words. The choral harmony with a tinge of bass in the background, Shahul Hameed’s rendition and Vairamuthu’s lyrics just create MAGIC. That’s all my lord!

By now, you know which song I am going to feature today, don’t you?! Yes.. The happy and positive Putham Pudhu Bhoomi vendum. First up, Thank You Vairamuthu sir. You are awesome! This has been Mano’s best albums till today, what with three wonderful yet different songs. And, Chithra in this song.. When you give this genius something like this, she just blows it away. Wah. But, if there is someone who over-powers both of these singers, it is the flute portions. Tell me you don’t get goosebumps listening to that part and I’ll change my name! Heh.

Enjoy. Peace Out.

