Tags

,

Okay.. Looks like a lot few of you missed my 100 happy songs and wanted me to continue for a hundred more days. I would’ve loved to do it but for a few reasons. Initially, when I started with the 100 happy songs, I really was into it – listening to newer songs in newer languages and posting them. But slowly the gig got monotonous. I started posting familiar songs and there was this pressure for me to post a song everyday which was not doing much good, anyway. That’s the only reason why I didn’t extend posting to another 100 days.

Instead, I am going to try making Mondays a tad little exciting with songs. Well.. Here’s presenting to you a new feature – Musical Mondays.Β Good deal or not, that you need to tell me?! And, I shall keep my fingers crossed for your feedback! πŸ™‚

Anyway, here are this week’s musical discoveries!

First up, Kadhal Kanave and Rasa Magarasa fromΒ Mundasupatti. This man Sean Roldan is my next recent favourite after, of course, Gibran. His Vaayai Moodi Pesavum has so much bass sounds that I fell for his music, instantly. And then, this Mundasupatti has such different sounds from his first. (I still haven’t listened to Sadhuranga Vettai!) I love the entire album but two of my favourites are Kadhal Kanave and the more popular Rasa Magarasa.

Next comes our master. AR Rahman. His recent Million Dollar Arm has been much better than the sloppy-yet-Oscar-winning Slumdog Millionaire. I particularly love We could be kings.

(On a side note, have you seen the teaser of Kaaviya Thalaivan, for which ARR is the MD? If you haven’t, here’s the link – Kaviya Thalaivan. The BGM is just so awesome. Can’t wait for the songs to release. )

I became a big fan of Arijith Singh’s voice after listening to Aashiqui 2. There is an emotion in his voice that cannot be matched at all. These days, I specifically look out for albums with his voice. And, that’s how I stumbled upon Shayarana from Holiday. Along with him, the violin brings such a beauty to this song. Just love it!

I’ve heard a lot about this song and finally managed to listen to it a couple of days ago and just got hooked to it. Azhage from Saivam. Uthara, Unni Krishnan’s daughter has rendered it so so beautifully that even the veena piece in the interludes seem to pale before her rendition. A big win from GV Prakash.

Okay.. Last comes a recent album from my favourite man. Raaja saar. Un Samaiyil araiyil. There are two songs that I love from this album. Therindho Theriyamalo and Eeramai. Can’t say vintage Raaja but Raaja’s magic, nevertheless.

That’s it for this week. So, what are you listening to this Monday?

