Tags

I was upset in the morning and didn’t want to post today. One of my uncles passed away last night. His life is kind of playing on my mind. How, he has never been really happy from the day I’ve known him. All he (and my aunt and cousins) have gone through in his life has been suffering and heartbreaks. It is a mystery why some good men have to suffer through their lives. Thank God, his misery has ended and he is in a better place right now. May his soul rest in peace (at least now!)

Music is what has been giving me company from the morning. I am listening to a lot of (new) good music from the morning which has actually made me feel much better.

I finally got to listen to Ramanujan songs and let me tell you, it is really really worth all the adulation that it has been receiving. With three (unique) renditions and the rest, instrumental stuff, Ramesh Vinayagam’s period compositions are such treats to listen to. Vani Jayaram’s voice is as sweet as it is today as it was in Apoorva Raagangal. Also, Unni’s rendition of Thirumazhisai Azhwar’s Vinkadantha is superb. But, of course, the pick of the album has to be Thuli Thuliyai; both Kaushiki Chakraborthy and Vinaya’s renditions. It has just stuck on!

I’ve been hunting for some new Rahman songs and I landed on Beqasoor from Lekar Hum Deewana Dil. Such soothing music and beautiful renditions from Nakash Aziz and Shweta Pandit.

One of my recent favourite MDs has been Santhosh Narayanan; although he uses Gaana Bala (Attakathi!) extensively in his films who I am not too fond of. Santhosh’s sounds are so different (Pizza and Soodhu Kavvum!) most of the time and I love it. I still haven’t listened to his Jigarthanda but my recent love has been Naan Nee from Madras. There’s something really nice about Shaktishree Gopalan’s voice and of course the violins and guitar give her able company.

We’ve been listening to a lot of guitar based English songs, thanks to the guitar-learning husband. And, my pick from his collection is Green Day’s Wake me up when September ends. It’s a lovely melody sure to soothe you every time you listen to it.

Finally, we have a couple of songs from my recent music crush. Gibran’s Amara Kaviyam. The two songs I am going to post have two completely different sounds. The first one is a peppy Saridhaana. Just the guitar and nadhaswaram portions in the first interlude is enough to make the song instantly likeable. Beauty! The next one is Deva Devadhai; a very Rajaesque melody and a very Rahmanesque instrumentation. The violins midway are so endearing.

That’s it from my end for today. What are you guys listening to?

