Tags

, ,

As far as 2014 is concerned, I am proud of a few (very few, okay!) things that I did last year. One of it and in fact, the first one being fitness.

I wanted to lose about 15 pounds, increase my walk timings, do a couple of more 10Ks (that was in my mind list.. not in the blog list!), do some yoga and meditate.

On the weight loss front, I fared not so bad. Or so, do I think. I lost close to 12 pounds. (BTW, I am still over weight, people. Thanks for your sympathies!) Losing 12 pounds is actually quite okay if I ignore the fact that a major portion of the 12 was done in the first half of 2014. I kind of lost track later on. Or, I couldn’t manage to lose anymore. I am a slacker when it comes to keeping things up. Like, a diet. By diet, I mean a balanced diet. I’ll do a slight digression here. I read Rujuta Diwekar’s Don’t lose your mind, lose your weight and was pretty impressed with the author’s PoV on fitness. No starving. No five-hour-a-day exercise regimen. No secret pills. Her four simple rules are these-

1. Don’t wake up to tea or coffee. Eat something within at least half an hour of waking up.

2. Eat every 2 or 3 hours a day. This will help you control your portions and you will not stuff yourself out of extreme hunger.

3. Finish your dinner at least 2 hours before you go to bed. And eat less when you are less active.

4. Work out at least once in every 3 days. She calls this the rule of pi.

I tried this routine for about five days and then gave up. Why is a question you are not supposed to ask. Just like that citing some stupid ‘it is difficult to think of and make what to eat every two hours’ reason. I know I am hopeless at keeping up such stuff. But 2015, I really want to implement this diet bit at least and make it a habit. The five days I did it I really felt good. I never felt overly hungry or overly full.

Anyway, as far as working out is concerned, I tried Aerobics for a couple of months. I kind of had a love-hate relationship with the class. I loved the instructor. She is awesome in motivating us. But, what I hated was the number of people in the class. At one point, it was getting a lot too claustrophobic. Also, the fact that the other learners kept talking about the amount of weight they lost (which was a little too much!) and the amount of food they ate (which is very little, btw!) didn’t help one bit. It had a very negative influence on me and I gave up.

I continued my daily morning walks. I like the fresh air. The chirpy birds. The colourful flowers. The cooker whistle sounds. The bye byes from the nursery kids. Their crisp uniforms. I like it that my day begins thus. I just don’t want to give up on this. Yet. In fact, I want to start running. May be, 2015 will get the honours of hosting this miracle.

Yoga and meditation are what I fared the lowest on. Close to zilch. Sigh.

I know I told myself I shall not make any resolutions this year. But, at least with fitness, I want to do good. So, this year, I shall-

1. try to lose at least 12 pounds. (the keyword is not try but at least!)

2. eat healthy and eat every 2 hours.

3. work out and start serious running.

So, you guys have any tips or tricks to get into a routine? What are your fitness resolutions?

