Tags

, ,

I’d like to think that I did cook a lot of varieties of food in 2014. But in reality, again, I’d like to blame my best friend, laziness. My go-to mantra these days seem to be, ‘when in doubt, blame laziness’. Sigh.

Anyway, I did actually try a few new things.

Like, I experimented a lot with mushrooms. Mushroom masala. Mushroom biryani. Pepper mushroom fry. Mushroom soup. A lot of mushrooms were included in our diet. I tried making different dishes using pasta. (Some of you might remember my pasta nightmare from the previous blog! I am glad I’ve come a long way from there!) I learnt to make proper stuffed parathas last year. That’s right. After about six odd years of trying to something akin to paratha, I can now make parathas that are nice. Note – not really nice; but nice. Also, I would be missing something great if I do not thank Bingo’s mum. She has been my inspiration and more of my propeller as far as cooking is concerned. Every time we meet, she encourages me to try different things. Also, once I was over at her place and learnt to make **gulp** ulundhu vadais. I’ve never known to make soft and ottai potta ulundhu vadai till I learnt from her. She is a cooking expert!

Well.. Here are some of my ‘creations’!

Everyday fare!

Everyday fare!

Pasta and pancakes

Pasta and pancakes

Festive food

Festive food

As far as baking was concerned, I wanted to try a lot more than what I actually did. I can count what I baked over the last year. Carrot cake. Marble cake. Choco-chip cookies. Tutti-frutti muffins. Oh wait.. And some brownies which I wasn’t happy with at all. **gasp** That’s all!

Baked goodies

Baked goodies

Now, my goals for 2015 are pretty simple –

– experiment with yeast in baking, basically learn to bake breads and pizzas.

– try Mexican and Chinese cuisine at home.

–  if possible, learn to make proper ‘butter cream icing’.

