Tags

, ,

It’s been two days since we are back to the grind.. err I mean, Hyderabad. Ten days of non-stop travel and now home feels a tad too slow for us. Hyderabad-Bangalore-Wayanad-Tirupur-Salem-Madras-Hyderabad. That was our itinerary. This wouldn’t have been that hectic had we not camped in Madras for six out of ten days. We are crazy like that.

The Hyderabad-Bangalore journey, I think, will be the most eventful one of the lot. A simple one hour flight travel was made into a ‘will we, won’t we’ tug of war, thanks to our flight. Our flight that was scheduled to depart at 7.10PM got rescheduled at least four times and finally departed at 11.45 in the night. Like I’d tweeted, if the airlines guys had organized a midnight mass in the airport, we would’ve celebrated Christmas there only. The airport was anyway decorated with Christmas trees and Santas which would’ve just added some additional cheer. So not! Some of the passengers out there went ahead and even ghareoed the poor attendants at the Gate but nothing would help depart our flight. Apparently, it was foggy in Delhi and hence the delay of five hours for a one hour flight scheduled between **wait for it** Hyderabad and Bangalore. With such a solid start, our vacation was bound to be awesome.

I had taken a few plastic bags with me in case the kids felt pukey. As soon as we got out of the plane, Kuttan clicks his tongue and sends out a frustrated sigh. And then goes on to use his most disappointed voice to say, ‘Cha.. Amma.. You carried so many plastic bags, but how sad that no one vomited!’ I was already feeling so disoriented ‘cos of the schedule screw-up and that comment made me only made me want to use one of those plastic bags!

When we finally reached my cousin’s place in Bangalore, it was 3 in the morning. We woke them up, mumbled a couple of hellos and promptly crashed. When we woke up the next morning, we were treated to an assortment of breakfast dishes and we filled ourselves to our heart’s content. It was really heartening to see my nephew bonding with the kids so well that we let go of our schedules and just let them be. So what if we miss out on visiting a few places at Wayanad; as long as the kids have fun it was enough.

We stayed at a HomeStay in Wayanad as recommended by Tharani and it was such a beautiful place to be. It was away from the hustle and bustle of the town surrounded by trees and a river. The owners of the place were wonderful people who treated us like their own children. This was our first homestay experience and I should say it was a little uncomfortable for me (only!) ‘cos I felt a little awkward demanding things from them. That minor quandary aside, this stay was really comfortable and worth remembering.

We visited only a few places in Wayanad because of the lack of time. We loved the scenic beauty of the BanaSura dam. The kids loved the speed boat ride there, although the wait time of an hour killed them. We also visited the Kuruva island where a log boat takes you to the island. I was okay with the place until I saw the lake in the middle of the island which was being used as a bath tub. It was so nasty that we walked back to the boat immediately regardless of the fact that we had just walked a couple of kilometers to get to the lake. Sigh.

When we stopped for tea on the way, they gave us tea without filtering the tea powder because we asked for strong tea. Hold on.. We even finished it. I am still rolling my eyes at that.

Our homestay had a small tree house that they had constructed a little away from our place. The kids just loved climbing the ladder to the top of the tree and playing inside the house. While, I was soaking in the sheer beauty of the place. The only sounds that could be heard from that place was the sound of the river and the chirping of the birds. Paradise!

The kids discovered ‘touch me not’ plants for the first time in their lives. Which meant we spent about half an hour at least ‘touching’ those plants and making them shrink. The excitement that they displayed every time the leaves shrunk was almost akin to winning a hundred crore lottery. And, the excitement was so contagious and that at one point even we started doing the touching and shrinking exercise.

Wayanad is such a beautiful place. I think I can survive on the greenery that I saw over two days for the rest of my life.

One more!

A view from the Banasura dam!

Tree House

Tree House

Touch me not!

Touch me not!

Tea plantations!

Tea plantations!

Killing the wait time!

Killing the wait time!

 

