Tags

, ,

As I am suffering from a perennial blogger’s block but have to write through the month, I am shamelessly flicking this tag from TGND’s blog. The fact that I read quite a few books in 2014 makes it easier for me to steal this tag with only little guilt. Heh.

Here goes –

1. Best book you read in 2014?

Such a difficult first question. Sigh. This Divided Island in the non-fiction category. The Harry Potter series in the fiction category. (Heh. Did you see what I did there?!)

2. Book you were excited about and thought you were going to love more but didn’t?

The thousand splendid suns. I was kind of underwhelmed by the book.

3. Most surprising (in a good way or a bad way) book you read in 2014?

The Bridges of Madison County. Such a downer it was for me.

4. Book you pushed the most people to read (and they did) in 2014?

This Divided Island. Also, I pushed Tharani a lot to read ‘The Zoya Factor’!

5. Best series you started in 2014? Best sequel of 2014? Best series ender of 2014?

Both Harry Potter and Udaiyar were great series that I read. I started and completed both in 2014.

6. Favourite new author you discovered in 2014?

Anuja Chauhan. Both her ‘The Zoya Factor’ and ‘Battle for Bittora’ are insanely funny reads.

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

Autobiographies. Both Unbreakeable and A shot at history were those that I enjoyed a lot which were never in my comfort zone.

8. Most action-packed/unputdownable/thrilling book of the year?

Hah. Harry Potter series, undoubtedly. I did nothing except read the books for about ten days. Even, the kids were neglected. Sshhh!

9. Book you read in 2014 that you are most likely to re-read next year?

Not in 2015; but I’d definitely re-read Harry Potter sometime later. I think I’ve still missed a few things in it ‘cos I wanted to finish it fast for the suspense to end.

10. Favourite cover of a book you read in 2014?

The Book Thief.

11. Most memorable character of 2014?

How do I even answer this question?! Dumbledore from Harry Potter. Also, Nikhil Khoda from The Zoya Factor. Raja Raja Chozhan from Udaiyar. Liesel from Book Thief. This list is endless.

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2014?

Okay.. Because I’ve already oohed and aahed about Brijnath and Samanth, I’ll go with ‘Forty Rules of Love’.

13. Most thought-provoking/life-changing book of 2014?

This Divided Island.

14. Book you can’t believe you waited until 2014 to finally read?

The Harry Potter series.

15. Favourite passage/quote from a book that you read in 2014?

From This Divided Island –

Shrink the humanity of your enemy, and the fighting must seem easier, more just, less complicated. Warfare consists of several psychological tricks, not least the ones you place upon yourself.

From The Harry Potter series, when Dumbledore says all of these –

Do not pity the dead, Harry. Pity the living, and above all, those who live without love.

It is our choices that shows who we truly are, far more than our abilities.

It is the unknown we fear when we look upon death and darkness, nothing more.

It takes a great deal of bravery to stand up to our enemies, but just as much to stand up to our friends.

I have so many more.. But, I’ll stop with these!

16. Shortest and longest book you read in 2014?

Shortest was The Bridges of Madison County. Longest was The Harry Potter series.

17. Book that shocked you the most?

The Fault in Our Stars. It wasn’t as depressing as I thought it to be.

18. One true pairing of the year?

Nikhil Khoda and Zoya Solanki. Gee!

19. Favourite non-romantic relationship of the year?

Between Will Schwalbe and his mother, Mary Anne from ‘The End of Your Life Book Club’

20. Favourite book you read in 2014 from an author you have read previously?

Mostly Madly Mayil by Sowmya Rajendran. I’d read her first book Mayil will not be quiet and loved it.

21. Best book you read in 2014 that you read based solely on a recommendation from somebody/peer pressure?

Infidel. Peer pressure was from Tharani!

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2014?

Nikhil Khoda! 😀 😀

23. Best 2014 debut you read?

I don’t think I read any debut novels in 2014.

24. Best worldbuilding/most vivid setting you read in 2014?

The Book Thief.

25. Book that put a smile on your face/was the most fun to read?

Battle for Bittora and The Zoya Factor.

26. Book that made you cry/nearly cry in 2014?

Many. This Divided Island. Book Thief. Shadow of the wind. The End of Your life Book Club. Heck.. I even cried when Dumbledore dies in the Harry Potter series.

27. Hidden gem of the year?

Forty Rules of Love.

28. Book that crushed your soul?

This Divided Island.

29. Most unique book you read in 2014?

The Book Thief. It was narrated by death and yet what a sweet little thingie this death was! 🙂

30. Book that made you the most mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

This Divided Island and The Book Thief.

With that, please take up this tag as you wish people. You can thank me later! 🙂

