Tags

,

Because even I am tired of my own Musical Mondays, I’ve borrowed this book tag from Smitha.

Musing Mondays are hosted by Miz B.

wpid-wp-14210114445362

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:
I’m currently reading…
Up next I think I’ll read…
I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
I can’t wait to get a copy of…
I wish I could read ___, but…
I blogged about ____ this past week…

I’ll choose this. I am super excited to tell you about…

Amish Tripathi’s announcement of his new series, The Scion of Ikshwaku. I loved Amish’s Meluha Trilogy. Okay.. He might not be someone who weaves magic with words but his plot was watertight to keep me hooked till the end. He made me like Shiva and in turn, dig deep and learn more about Shiva who I was unaware of till then. It is not only because of these reasons that I am waiting for Amish’s next.

It is more because he is going to write about my favourite mythological character. Lord Ram. You know how much I love supporting Rama already, don’t you? (Here and here, you can read about my views on Ram). He almost shares my views on Ram.

He recounted how at a literature festival in Mumbai, he was questioned by a reader on why he used the term ‘Lord’ when he talked about Ram. “The question deeply upset me… I agree how he treated Sita was unfair, but that was one aspect of his personality.” Referring to the negative impression of Ram with regard to how he treated his wife in the Ramayana, Tripathi said, “Ram was called ‘Maryada Purush’. People erroneously translate this as ‘the perfect man’ when it actually means ‘the perfect follower of rules’.

Can you see how we echo each other’s thoughts? Exactly why I am so excited to read his book! So, is there a new release you are excited about?

