Tags

,

Okay.. One more book post it shall be. 2015 has seen me read four books and I kind of liked all of them.

Keep the Change by Nirupama Subramanian.  B.Damayanthi, who hates her name by the way, is a Chartered Accountant whose parents want to get her married ASAP ‘cos she was well past her marriageable age (26!) She is bored of her life and wants to move away from the confines of her parents and her house in Amman Kovil Street. Egged on by her friend, she finds a job in Bombay where her life gets a complete makeover!

This is the first book that I read in 2015 and I wasn’t disappointed at all. I’d got the book from Bingo’s mom and was a little apprehensive about reading it considering it was labelled chick-lit. But, I was able to relate to it a lot.Witty at times but relateable (at least to me!) at most places, it’s a fun book to read. A short read that I really didn’t want to end.

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. I bought this book after the much hyped film (based on the book) got released. I still wasn’t sure if I should be reading it. The blurb suggested that the book was kind of disturbing. But then, I went for it and I wasn’t disappointed. It is certainly not literature. It falls in the ‘film screenplays written in the form of a book’ category. Yet, it kept my interest till the end; although I couldn’t really accept the way the book ended. If you’ve still don’t know about the spoilers, do read the book. It’s an erm interesting book.

Bankerupt by Ravi Subramanian. In a nutshell, this book is about how a few people can do anything to attain power and money. ‘Cirisha Narayanan, a professor at MIT Boston, who has risen meteorically, stumbles upon a cryptic message. Aditya Raisinghania, her banker husband, sets up a highly innovative financial hoax. Her profiteering father harvests Australia’s largest bird, the emu in India. The US elections are on and the debate on gun control has reached a fever pitch. Set in Mumbai, Coimbatore and Boston, Ravi Subramanian creates an impeccably researched world where everyone has a motive to kill.’ That’s the blurb from Goodreads.

Okay.. I have a strong feeling that I have some ‘poorva jenma bandham’ with authors whose surnames are Subramanian. Till now, they’ve never disappointed me. (Samanth, Nirupama and now, Ravi!) Being an ex-banker myself, I’ve heard a lot about this author’s ‘If God was a Banker’ but somehow never picked it up. (I will in sometime, though!) Bankerupt doesn’t deal only with banks but also throws insight on how the US universities operate and talks a lot of Gun-control in the US. It’s a nice quick thriller to read but requires some (very little!) finance background.

The Krishna Key by Ashwin Sanghi. This book is about a seal that is handed over to Prof Ravi Mohan Saini (a history professor) by his friend Anil Varshney for safe keeping. This seal is a part of the set of four, where the other three are handed over to other people by Varshney. The seal in entirety contains the Krishna key, a key to decipher the secret to the existence and secret of Krishna. Varshney gets murdered and so are the other two safe keepers of the key and the blame falls on Saini. Who is the killer of these people? What is the Krishna Key and where is it located? That forms the rest of the story.

Given that I am very fond of mythology, I thought I’ll love this book. I should say I am on the fence on this book. The book contains so many (SO MANY!) facts and figures that I was wondering if I was reading some archaeology (science at one point, mythology at another!) thesis paper. Yet, yet, I couldn’t really shun the book and say, ‘It’s not my cup of tea!’ I laboured to finish it but finish I did. They call the author India’s Dan Brown; I  don’t find Dan Brown fascinating so I am okay with the title! I liked Ashwin’s Chanakya’s Chant better. But, give this one a try too. It will keep your head reeling but will make you go back to reading the basics of mythology.

So, what are you reading today?

