Tags

, ,

**Note – Please skip this post if you haven’t read the book or don’t know about Jobs’ life much. Also, if you are an Apple lover! 😉 **

It all began when somehow I stumbled upon a Quora thread about Jobs’ daughter who he abandoned because he wanted to concentrate on Apple. I felt extremely let down by the personal life of this ‘visionary’ whose forecast about technology was way ahead of his time. I know.. I shouldn’t be judging his personal life but somehow I couldn’t wrap my head around the fact that he made his daughter undergo the same (or even worse, cos she lived in extremely poor conditions with her single mother unlike Jobs who had a fairly decent childhood even though he was adopted) plight as him.

I was discussing this with someone and they said an aberration as this is justified if it is for the greater good; the greater good here being Apple. Which, as you can see, only left me fuming more. Slowly, I came to terms with the fact that I was as usual over-reacting and so decided to know the entire story. That’s how I started reading Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson.

Finally, a couple of weeks ago I finished reading it. It was a huge book that took me ten days to complete. During those ten days, I had to keep repeatedly telling myself that I was reading a biography and not fiction. It was engrossing. It made me more angry and bitter. Like I wrote midway through reading the book, I was alternating between extreme disgust and extreme fascination for this man called Jobs. In the end, I realized I had so much to learn from Steve Jobs; a lot about how not to be and to give him the credit, a little about how to be.

Learning number one – Love people who love you. Parents. Friends. Girlfriends. Wife. Children. They love you and it is important that you love them too. You might be a visionary. Your calling is important. You might want to change the world. You will be able to do all this along with loving others too.

Learning number two – You are awesome but that doesn’t mean you have to put down/manipulate others who are as awesome as you. (Case in point – Steve Wozniak) If you really think you are here to change the world, so are so many others. You change the world a little; they do their bit too.

Learning number three – You do not, I repeat, DO NOT take credit for others’ work. Even if you think the entire world will be illuminated if **you** take credit for that work, you have nothing else to do but give the person who created it the due credit.

Learning number four – Nothing in this world (including a world of wealth and an apology after years) will set right abandoning a little life. A childhood lost is lost; it cannot be made good. Ever.

Learning number five – You may be the boss but never call someone’s work ‘sh*t’. You know what.. We’ll never be alive if there was no sh*t!

Learning number six – Follow rules. Yes.. You are a visionary; a leader; a genius. But you aren’t God.

Learning number seven – An all fruit vegan diet is not a substitute for deodorants!

And finally, learning number eight – We all will die one day; so will such artistic gadgets created by us.

This is what I wrote on GoodReads (with 3 stars) – I really really wish a book is written on the other Steve (Steve Wozniak) who co-founded Apple rather than Jobs. Because, this big bad world needs to know about nicer people like Woz far far more than how artistic tech gadgets are made. So yes.. Read the book for the other Steve. It will be worth it!

 

