Tags

,

Okay.. I sure liked a lot of new film songs this year. But this post is not about that. These are songs that were quite old but discovered by me during this year.

The first one is Kannamma Kanavillaiya from Viswa Thulasi. I came to know of this song when Anand sang this during this edition of Super Singer. He sang brilliantly well and made sure the song will remain a part of my playlist for eternity now. That aside, the real hero of the song is SPB. Man.. What a voice! I can’t even think of any other adjectives to explain this man’s voice. I also loved the lyrics of the song that is apparently written by Sumathy Ram. (I am not going talk about MSV who composed such a beautiful song here because he deserves a separate post as a tribute!)

Nanda nee en nila from Nanda en nila. I actually came to know of this song some time ago but somehow it came into my playlist loop only very recently. The song is composed by the famous Malayalam composer V.Dakshinamurthi and the lyrics are by Pazhanisami. The lyric-music combo is one of the best I’ve ever heard. This song is based on madhuvanthi raga which is such a beautiful one and SPB’s voice just enhances the beauty!

Unnidam mayangugiren from Then Sindhudhe vanam. This song is not essentially a new discovery; I’d like to call it a re-discovery. For some reason, it came into my playlist only recently. The music is by V.Kumar and GK.Venkatesh. What a beautiful melody sung by Yesudas. And of course, we have Vaali’s lyrics.

Vanji un vaarththaiyellaam sangeetham
Vanna vizhi paarvaiyellaam dheiveegam
Bhoopaalam kaetkum pozhudhulla varaiyil inbangal uruvaaga kaanboam
Kuzhalosai kuyiloasaiyendru mozhi pesu azhage nee indru

Tcha. Whattay!

And last is Saathi malli poocharame from Azhagan. After Bahubali, I went hunting for Keervani’s songs and thus landed on this long-forgotten melody. Again, SPB. This man. Sigh. I like the way the way the song would’ve been shot. Beautiful Banupriya and handsome (somewhat!) Mammootty. The lyrics are by Pulamaipithan. Such beauty.

Padikkathaan paadalaa nenachu paarthomaa
Padichadha purinju naam nadakka thaan
Kettukko raasathi Thamizh Naadachu
Indha naattukku naamaachu

So, what were your musical discoveries this year?

