Tags

, ,

I have a dark complexion. I am not sure it is here in this blog or in the previous blogs, but I’ve written a lot about how out of place I’ve felt about the colour of my skin, that is during my growing up days. I’ve tried a lot of Fair and Lovelys and Fairevers just so that I am not as dark as I think of myself. It’s not that people around me thought I was dark. Some, yes. But mostly, people weren’t even bothered. Yet, I felt small and inferior a lot of times because of my skin colour. Only after completed my CA inter and landed on my internship at a big firm that I decided to come out of that rut.

During all these growing up days and even after that, I always had this nagging question behind somewhere in my head. Why is it that only people with dark skin spoke about the negative effects of the promotions of these fairness creams? I saw very few fair complexioned people actually voicing out such opinions. I am not saying they were smug about their skin colour. Well, there were are some people like that. But mostly, fair complexioned people were completely oblivious to this entire fairness cream brouhaha. Why?

My answer came a few days ago via Twitter. (Reasons to love Twitter #4567896)

This was a revelation to me. Now, I can’t blame my fair friends, can I? (pun unintended!)

It was not just my friends. It was also me. It was as if someone woke me up from my slumber, hit me on my head and said, ‘do you realize why you’re blind to so many of your privileges?’ Caste comes number one. I hate the caste and reservation system only because I am privileged. Then comes the financial security. I am not oblivious to it only because as a kid I’ve gone through what it was to not have money. Yet, now that is a privilege I take for granted most of the time.

I don’t know. There could be so many other privileges that I am blind to. All I know now is that I am a privileged brat and complaining (or even not talking) about some of the things will only make me look obnoxious to so many others who don’t have it. This lesson has taught me how to be more sensitive to both myself and to others.

P.S. This comic strip on privilege is a brilliant one. Do see it. http://digitalsynopsis.com/inspiration/privileged-kids-on-a-plate-pencilsword-toby-morris/

