Tags

,

It’s almost end of the month and I’ve only read three books till now. I wanted to read more. I had the time to read more but instead I was just moping around. Yet, the good thing is I didn’t stick to chick-lit. Yay for that.

End of last year, I started watching Master of None on Netflix after the entire world and its cousin went gaga over it. I am afraid to say this but I was pretty underwhelmed. So I decided to give Aziz Ansari another chance by reading his book. Modern Romance it was. This is non-fiction where Aziz with Eric Klinenberg does a lot of research and share their findings about how romance has changed over time and what it is like to be dating right now. It has a few chapters dedicated to how dating and romance is (and has evolved) in three places – Paris, Tokyo and Buenos Aries; apart from the US that is.

To say that I learnt a lot from the book will be the understatement of the year. So much research has gone into the book and there are a lot of numbers and pie charts; but that doesn’t make this book boring at all. Ansari’s characteristic sarcasm and humour is thrown in in large doses which means it is aptly rated the best book in non-fiction category in Good Reads. You know what, now I’ve actually started enjoying Master of None better. So yes.. giving second chances work, mostly!

The next one I read was again non-fiction. (Go me!) Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Album. I didn’t like it as much as I wanted to. I’ve already written about how I felt about the book. So well, that’s basically it. Read it if you want to feel motivated. You might really really like it like a lot of people out there; or like me, you might not. It’s a small book and easy on time so you won’t regret it much. I didn’t. Heh.

The last one that I read was The Accidental Mother by Rowan Coleman. You can call this chicklit but I won’t. Shhhh. Okay.. This book is about Sophie, a single go-getter party planner who suddenly is thrust with the responsibility of taking care of her best friend’s two kids, Bella and Izzy. Did she cope well? Is it a happily ever after fairy tale? That’s the book about.

More than Sophie, my heart went out to Bella and Izzy. All of six and three years, having to lose the mother you loved in a freak accident, go through foster homes for six months and then land at Sophie’s doorstep hoping she doesn’t ditch you.. Sigh. Death is the worst nightmare for any parent ever. And so for these children. Sigh. This book made my cry bucket loads and finally when all was well (oh.. I knew it would be!) I felt happiness like nothing else. The book has a sequel apparently called The Accidental Family dealing with Sophie’s relationship issues. I don’t know if I really want to read that book but may be I will for Rowan Coleman. I found her words emoting like no other.

After these three books, I am still struggling to pick my next. I have a lot of half read books on my Kindle and I don’t know if I should re-start them. At the risk of attracting brickbats, these half-read ones are some of the most loved books all over the world. One is Harper Lee’s To Kill a Mocking Bird (I am already running away from Tharani!) One more is Neil Gaiman’s The Ocean at the End of the Lane. Brace yourselves for the next.. Murakami’s Kafka on the Shore. I know I know.. I am pathetic like that. To restart or not to restart.. That’s the question. 😀

