Tags

, , , ,

Today is just random music day. (primarily because I am trying to get back to being regular here and it’s almost end of the day!)

One of those songs that we’ve been listening to regularly in the car these days is Aathi ena nee from Kathi. I know, the avid Anirudh hater that I am, I am forced into hearing this song by the son. (On a related but completely shattered note, he seems to like a lot Anirudh songs. **sniffs**) Anyway, I kind of like this song too. It has a nice breezy song vibe, thanks to Vishal Daldani and Anirudh’s vocals.

So, the next one is one of my recent addictions although an old song. Satru munbu from Nee Dhane En Ponvasantham. Such an intense song it is. NSK Ramya’s vocals is the highlight of the song. And those violins.. Raaja is a genius. One of those films where I really really liked Samantha. Sigh.

Sean Roldan’s Mundasuppatti has some phenomenal songs. (I’ve actually listed two of them here) But today will see Idhu enna from the same film. There is so much emotion in that song; it feels like music is talking to us even in the interludes. (Trivia – Did you know that Sean Roldan’s maternal grandpa is the Tamil writer Sandilyan?!) Anyway, the song becomes even more beautiful ‘cos of Haricharan’s vocals. Whattay voice!

I know I’ve written about this film here. But I haven’t posted any songs from it yet. What blasphemy when the music from Santhosh is as good as it can get. Vaadi Raasaathi from 36 vayadhinile. There’s an earthiness about this song; especially the vocals by Lalitha Vijayakumar. That conversational part in the middle when she goes.. ‘thambi trumpetu… enna pa idhu’, it makes me giggle every time. The lyrics of this song (apparently by lyricist Vivek) hits home like anything.

Potta Pulla Poga Ulagam Paathai Pottu Vaikkum
Muttu Santhu Paathu Antha Roadu Poi Nikkum
Padankaattum Emaathi
Kalangaatha Raasaathi

Also Jothika ❤

And then the last, like I’ve already said, my recent addiction.. Chennai 2 Singapore. Last week, I’d posted a super melody. This week is quite the opposite. Texas Pogiren. This song took quite some time to get me. But when it did, it became a ‘on-a-loop’ song. It’s such a funky number with such funky lyrics. The way it ends with the baby crying is hilarious. Gibran FTW.

Hope you like them! 🙂

