Tags

, ,

Today shall be YuvanDay because why not! No.. I am not going to torture you with the songs that he’s sung. These are songs that he’s composed. Mostly from his early albums. Yuvan’s early albums are a treat to listen to. I wonder where that Yuvan is these days.

GB.. I know S likes Yuvan a lot. I hope he likes listening to these songs!

I love the entire Poovellam Kettuppar album. I really can’t pick a best from the album because every song is brilliant. Today, I’ll post ‘Irava Pagala’ because Hariharan and Sujatha Mohan. Their combination works big time. The lyrics are by Pazhani Bharathi. I wonder what he’s doing these days. Also, I love love how the song looks on screen. That pair of Suriya and Jo – ❤

Then, a year later came Dheena. Again, a complete album. Every song is wonderful. I think this is Ajith and Murugadas’ (standalone and together!) best album in their career. I’ve already posted Sollamal thottu chellum thendral. Although I love Vathikuchi simply because and for SPB, today it will be some other song. Nee illai endral. It was sung by Murugan (Anuradha Sriram’s brother, apparently) and sung so well. Also Vaali’s lyrics are the best.

Mounam Pesiyadhe again was a good album by Yuvan. My favorite of the lot is Aadadha Aattemellam because of two things. One, who else but Karthik. And two, lyrics by Snehan.

Karuvaraikul Thanaaga Katru Konda siru Aattam
Thottilukul sugamaaga Thodarum Aatamae
Paruvam Pookkum Nerathil Kaathal seiya Porattam
Kaathal Vantha Pinnalae Bothai Aattamae
Paerukaaga Oru Aattam Kasukaaga Pala Aattam
ettu Kaalil Pogum Bothu ooru Podum Aattamae

Arindhum Ariyamalum is still one of Yuvan’s best albums. Everyone went ooh and aah over Theepidakka. It still is one of the most popular songs. But I like ‘ela ela ela’ a lot. It’s peppy and is such a mood lifter.

I detest Selvaraghavan films with a vengeance. Yet, his films have such beautiful music and somehow we are forced to listen to them. (And, I am not talking about the recent adi da avala type songs whatever they are called!) Kadhal Kondein is an album that is one of Yuvan’s best again. So many beautiful melodies it has. My favorite from the lot is ‘thottu thottu’. Whatever happened to Harish Raghavendra?

So well.. that’s my musical Monday. How’s yours?

